Sunday, 23 January, 2022

420 N. Pokegama Ave

Grand Rapids, MN 55744

City Hall: 218-326-7600


The Library's Mission Statement:

The Grand Rapids Area Library fosters a welcoming environment that builds a connected,  informed, and engaged community.

Purpose and Responsibilities of the Library Board of Trustees

  • The Library Board is a statutory, policy setting group whose vision directs the Library's operations.
  • The duties and responsibilities of the library board are described in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 134.
  • The Board is charged with hiring, supervising and if necessary with discharging the Library Director.
  • The Board is permitted by resolution of the Grand Rapids City Council to accept donations for the use of the library.
  • The Library Board seeks adequate support from governmental units for the normal operations of the Library.


  • The Board is composed of 9 members: 5 members must be residents of the City of Grand Rapids, four members must be residents of other supporting governmental units. (Cities of Warba, La Prairie and Cohasset and townships of Wabana, Arbo, Harris, Blackberry, Feeley, Sago and Spang.
  • Members are appointed to 3-year terms, with an expiration date of December 31. Maximum service is for three full terms.


  • Board meetings are scheduled for the second Wednesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. and are held at the City Council Chambers.
  • Board meetings usually last from 1 to 1.5 hours.
  • Board packets usually are sent by e-mail or made available in the library on Friday or Monday before the meeting. Informational materials and lengthy items to be considered at the Board meeting may be sent farther in advance of the meetings.
  • Meetings are conducted under Robert's Rules of Order and follow the requirements of the Minnesota Open Meeting Laws.

Board member application


Library Board Members
Jean MacDonell - Non-Resident Member (Township)
Aaron Squadroni - Resident Member
Ellen Teigland - Resident Member
Elias Blocker - Resident Member
Lisa Tabbert - Resident Member
Sheena Richards - Resident Member
Deborah Kee - Non-Resident Member (Township)
Cyndy Martin - Non-Resident Member (Township)
Lisa Lassen - Non-Resident Member (Township)
Staff Contact
Will Richter - Director of Library Services
Phone:  218-326-7643
140 NE 2nd St.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744


For agenda and minutes please contact City Clerk Kim Gibeau at 218-326-7611 or admin@cityofgrandrapidsmn.com.