Sunday, 23 January, 2022

420 N. Pokegama Ave

Grand Rapids, MN 55744

City Hall: 218-326-7600

The Grand Rapids Planning Commission is an advisory board, appointed by the Mayor and City Council, whose duties are those vested in it by Minnesota Statues and other ordinances of the City.

The Commission is generally responsible for providing oversight of and an input into the preparation of the City’s Comprehensive Plan which contains goals, policies and maps to guide the community’s physical, social and economic development, and, also, for providing input and recommendations to the City Council related to the periodic revision of the City’s land use related official controls, such as the Zoning and Subdivision Ordinances.

The Grand Rapids Planning Commission also serves as the Board of Zoning Appeals for the City, and, as such, acts as the decision making body of the City related to variance applications submitted for consideration.

The Planning Commission is a seven-member body comprised of citizens of Grand Rapids. The members are appointed to staggered four year terms. The Planning Commission holds a minimum of one regularly scheduled meeting per month, in the City Hall Council Chambers, on the first Thursdays, at 4:00 pm.


To learn more about the job of a planning commissioner please read the description here. 


Grand Rapids Planning Commission

Lester Kachinske - Commissioner Patrick Goggin - Vice Chair/Secretary
Betsy Johnson - Commissioner
Ted Hubbes - Commissioner
Mark Gothard - Commissioner
Molly MacGregor - Chairperson
Staff Contacts
Rob Mattei - Director of Community Development
Phone: 218-326-7622
Eric Trast - Zoning Administrator
Phone: 218-326-7650
420 N. Pokegama Ave.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744